Ostriches

Image

Yep, that’s the one. That’s how I’ve been feeling. If you didn’t already sense it, WARNING, VENT AHEAD….

I thought I was more prepared for this last school year, but, boy was I wrong. I’ve spent my time rushing from activity to activity, weathering a long series of “lasts”, wondering if it will ever end. Wishing it would end sooner. My daughter actually has a countdown on her phone. I added one this morning.

This is not what I wanted it to be. I thought I was prepared for the tasks ahead. I’d been down this road before. I was emotionally in a really solid place. Ha!

I am done with school, teachers, administrators, counselors, cranky classmates, senior projects, field trips, current events assignments and endless emails about senior events. We have paid for transcripts, applications, tests, AP exams, and the Financial Aid forms. Don’t even get me started on the graduation swag…wow…   I feel like I’m drowning in paperwork and wasted time. 

Not much joyful in the old nest today, but this too shall pass right? Someday we’ll all look back on this and laugh?

Probably. 

I comfort myself knowing that most of this is already behind us, I think she has picked her school. It’s a good choice for a lot of reasons, she seems excited to take on a new world. I know I’m ready for a new groove. Been thinking about it quite a bit, as a matter of fact. Guess I’ll hang onto that for now.

By the way, ostriches don’t really bury their heads in the sand….

I’m off to plan a better day.

 

Leave a Reply

